IT IS WITH DEEP appreciation that I sincerely wish to thank my friends who have helped in giving information, data, material and cooperation of all, even strangers.  They will always be remembered.

    To my sisters, Mrs Lillian S. Myers and Mrs. Minnie S. Rice, who gave their time unstintingly and many valuable suggestions concerning the authenticity of many little incidents throughout the book; to my brother-in-law, E. L. Myers, who gave the history of the early settlers in and around Evangeline; to my niece, Mrs. Joseph Billups for constructive advice.

    To the Manager and Secretary of Baton Rouge chamber of Commerce; Public Relations Committee of L.S.U.; Esso Standard Oil Company of the Baton Rouge Refinery; Public Relations Committee and the guide at the Old State Capitol; Public Relations Committee and the guide at the New State Capitol.

    To Mrs. Kirtley Lynch; Aaron Jacobs who gave information booklets, and papers concerning the history and industrial life of St. Landry Parish and Opelousas; Jack Tessier; Opelousas Chamber of Commerce; Felix Dezauche; J. W. Low; R. J. “Robbie” Castille; Miss Louise Olivier; Andre A. Olivier; Postmaster Howard J. Durand; Miss Ita LeDoux; New Iberia Chamber of Commerce, New Iberia, and its manager and secretary; Mrs. N. C. Smith; Larry Smith; Miss Phoebe Landry; Lafayette Chamber of Commerce and its manager and secretary; Miss Elaine Broussard.

    To Mr. and Mrs. James Miller; Mrs. R. C. Faulkner; Mrs. W. J. Holder; Mrs. W. T. Nettles; William Sonnier; Mrs. Mildred Duson Cossey; Mrs. Mary R. Daigle; T. L. Levy; Velma Lea Hair; Mrs. Elizabeth Barnett; Association of Commerce, Crowley; Chamber of Commerce, Abbeville; Roy R.Theriot; Association of Commerce, Lake Charles; Rupert F. Cisco; Miss Maude Reed, History of the City (Lake Charles).

    To the late W. Scott Heywood; Mrs. W. Scott Heywood; Mrs. Grenese Jackson; Mrs. Herbert Hoag; Mrs. J. H. Heinen; L. E. Bloch; Association of Commerce, Jennings; Franklin Hildebrand; Mr. and Mrs. Ira Schwartz; Mrs. Herbert Mason; Jennings Carnegie Library; Miss Frances Schwartz; Mr. And Mrs. Allen D. Schwartz; Mrs. Mathilde G. Woods; Dr. A. A. Supple; John M. Caffery; Edward Petgerman; Edward A. Olivier; The Reverend Paul Due; w. McKerrell O’Neill; Harold E. Crary, Clyde Barbour, Jr., Chamber of Commerce, Morgan City.

    To Mrs. E. J. Fleming; Reuben Brown, International House; International Trade Mart; The Gray Line Motor Tours, Incorporated; New Orleans Association of Commerce; Vaughn Bryant, Publicity Director, International House; Mrs. P. Winters; Mrs. Alvin Hovey-King; Mr. Jones, Agriculture Agent; Mississippi River Commission Corps of Engineers, United States Army, New Orleans District; Mrs. Estelle Bourg Lyman.